Wrathful smite | D&D 5th Edition Spell

The wrathful smite is one of the most potent evocation spells on DND. It is only available to wizard class members and it has only requires vocal components. This spell takes one bonus action to cast, and the range is within the self.

1st Level Evocation

Casting Time: 1 bonus action
Classes: Paladin
Range: Self
Components: V
Duration: Concentration, Up to 1 minute

The next time you hit with a melee weapon attack during this spell’s duration, you attack deals an extra 1d6 psychic damage. Additionally, if the target is a creature, it must make a Wisdom saving throw or be frightened of you until the spell ends. As an action, the creature can make a Wisdom check against your spell save DC to steel its resolve and end this spell.

Frequently Asked Question of Wrathful Smite

Wrathful Smite is an interesting spell, but people usually ask a few questions about it. Here are the answers;

1. What Does Wrathful Smite Do 5e?

Wrathful Smite is a first level evocation spell available to the Paladins class. When the Paladin lands his next melee attack, he will deal an additional 1d6 psychic damage. It is an excellent way to boost melee damage as a Paladin without sacrificing melee weapon damage.

2. Does Wrathful Smite Work Once?

We learned from a reliable source that the Wrathful Smite spell, the Branding Smite spell, and similar spells work for one hit only.

3. Why Is Wrathful Smite A Wisdom Check?

In order to end the spell, the creature must succeed at a Wisdom check against your spell save DC. If the creature fails the first save, it is given the option to attempt another save in order to end the effects of the wrathful smite.

4. Is Wrathful Smite Concentration?


It has been stated that Wrathful Smite is a concentration spell as stated in the D&D Player’s Handbook.

5. Is Wrathful Smite A Bonus Action?


It is the rule that the wrathful smite spell has one bonus action as specified in its spell rules.

6. Can Paladin Cast Wrathful Smite 5e?


In accordance with the spell description, paladin can be used with wrathful smite, since the paladin has the option of making a Wisdom check against your spell save DC to end this spell.

7. Is Wrathful Smite Evocation Cantrip?

The spell “Wrathful Smite” is an evocation cantrip spell of 1st level. The spell is part of the “Evocation” school of magic.

This post was all about “Wrathful Smite”, we will continue to bring you similar posts on other topics related to DND. If you liked this post, you might also enjoy our other posts.