War Caster 5e | Feats Guide for 5th Edition

War Caster is an excellent feat for spellcasters seeking to maximize their effectiveness during combat.

This feat can be used by any magic user to take down enemies faster and survive a desperate melee long enough to prevail.

If you’re not familiar with this feat, it can be found on page 171 of the Player’s Handbook, and read as such:

You have practiced casting spells in the midst of combat, learning techniques that grant you the following benefits:

  • You have advantage on Constitution saving throws that you make to maintain your concentration on a spell when you take damage.
  • You can perform the somatic components of spells even when you have weapons or a shield in one or both hands.
  • When a hostile creature’s movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack.

    The spell must have a casting time of 1 action and must target only that creature.

Frequently Asked Question of War Caster

War caster is an interesting feat, but people usually ask a few questions about it. Here are the answers;

1. What Does War Caster Do 5e?

War Caster transforms any spellcaster into a combat-oriented mage. The mage is capable of maintaining indestructible focus while casting a spell in battle, using their weapons as extensions of their hands when casting somatic spells, and responding to threats within a blink of an eye.

2. Why Is War Caster Good?

The War Caster is similar to the Polearm Master only it allows a specific build to be used rather than offering raw power to an existing one.

There are a number of characters that enjoy using magic in combat, which can mean taking damage from many sources at the same time.

3.Does War Caster Use A Spell Slot?

Yes, In this case, the slot is used. You are casting a spell, so using the normal rules for casting spells will be used

4. Does Ranger Need War Caster?

Although Rangers do not use a spellcasting focus, that does not mean that they are exempt from material component requirements for spells.

It simply means that they need to draw the spell components from a pouch and they must have a free hand so that they can do so.

5. Do Cleric Need War Caster?

All clerics cannot cast spells, and not all clerics prefer to use melee combat. There is no requirement to take the feat. This is good for melee casters, but it is not required

6. Can You Cast War Caster For Eldritch Blast?

Yes, However, the Improved Pact Weapon does not need to be used.

The War Caster feat allows you to cast an eligible spell such as eldritch blast instead of an opportunity attack when an enemy provokes an attack of opportunity due to movement.

7. War Caster Is Most Useful For Whom?

Druids and Clerics are listed together as they have a lot in common when it comes to taking War Caster:

both classes have spell lists that heavily feature concentration spells and both are proficient with shields with the additional incentive of holding a weapon in one hand.

8. What Level Should I Be For War Caster?

War Caster is more effective at level 1. In some cases, you will have to take lethal damage in order to set some of the higher concentration DCs, which is especially true.

I hope you have enjoyed this post about “War Caster,” we will continue to bring you more posts about D&D related topics in the future. Thanks for visiting this post.