In this post, we will talk about the “Disintegrate”, a spell that is highly useful and interesting in the world of D&D. The casting time for the spell is 1 action, and you can use this spell on both sorcerer and wizard classes.
A thin green ray springs from your pointing finger to a target that you can see within range.
The target can be a creature, an object, or a creation of magical force, such as the wall created by wall of force.
A creature targeted by this spell must make a Dexterity saving throw. On a failed save, the target takes 10d6 + 40 force damage.
If this damage reduces the target to 0 hit points, it is disintegrated.
A disintegrated creature and everything it is wearing and carrying, except magic items, are reduced to a pile of fine gray dust.
The creature can be restored to life only by means of a true resurrection or a wish spell.
This spell automatically disintegrates a Large or smaller nonmagical object or a creation of magical force.
If the target is a Huge or larger object or creation of force, this spell disintegrates a 10-foot-cube portion of it. A magicitem is unaffected by this spell.
At Higher Levels: When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 7th level or higher, the damage increases by 3d6 for each slot level above 6th.
Frequently Asked Question of Disintegrate
In DND, disintegrate is one of the most popular spells, but it is also very confusing, so many people have questions about it. Please find below the answer to those questions;
1. Does Disintegrate Do Damage On A Successful Save?
In the official rules of 5e, a successful dexterity saving throw against Disintegrate simply means the spell causes zero damage.
2. Does Disintegrate Do Half Damage?
Because Disintegrate is not a save for half damage spell – it’s all or nothing. When you are subjected to an effect that allows you to make a Dexterity saving throw to take only half damage, you instead take no damage if you succeed on the saving throw, and only half damage if you fail.
3. How Do You Use Disintegrate 5e?
Disintegrate is a level 6 spell, so you need to have a slot open at that level to use it.
If you put it in a level higher slot, you will add 3d6 damage to the spell. If you add it to the eight-slot, you will add 6d6 damage.
4. Which Material Used In Disintegrate 5e?
The material used in disintegrate is a lodestone and a pinch of dust.
5. Who Can Use Disintegrate In DND?
Disintegrate can be used by the sorcerer, and wizard classes. All of these classes are very useful in this spell.
6. What Level Do You Get Disintegrate 5e?
Disintegrate is a 6th level transmutation spell, which belongs to the transmutation school of magic.
I hope that you found it informative and interesting. Thank you for reading this article.